[Ansteorra] FW: [Mid] Fwd:Con man offering Japanese XVIII Swod for Sale

Chris A. Dunham cadunham at worldnet.att.net
Sun Mar 14 07:02:04 PST 2004



-----Original Message-----
From: owner-sca-middle at midrealm.org
[mailto:owner-sca-middle at midrealm.org] On Behalf Of Aleannain at aol.com
Sent: Sunday, March 14, 2004 7:23 AM
To: sca-middle at midrealm.org
Cc: Flamebridge at yahoogroups.com; black_dragon_shire at yahoogroups.com
Subject: [Mid] Fwd:Con man offering Japanese XVIII Swod for Sale


----- Original Message ----- 
From: "bekka425" <robbins at vpm.net>
To: <HouseIronrose at yahoogroups.com>
Sent: Saturday, March 13, 2004 10:00 PM
Subject: [IR] WARNING: Con man offering Japanese XVIII Sword For Sale

> Greetings Everyone,
> Within the last day or so, a polish Man by the name of Pawel T. 
> Nowak, contacted Giovanni and offered to sell him a XVIII Century 
> Katana for $400.00, but could not tell him where he found his email 
> address.  When I contact a stranger for info, that is the first 
> thing that I do after I introduce myself.   It bugged me.  It also 
> bugged me that though the guy did produce pics of something that 
> looked like a pretty roughed up Katana, the guy did not provide pics 
> of the authenticity docs he claimed he had, so I did some digging. I 
> looked the guy up and this is what I found:
> Apparently, he used to sell fake shipwreck maps and other false info 
> to divers.
> http://www.treasurenet.com/forum/shipwrecks/messages/1003490.shtml
> http://www.treasurenet.com/forum/shipwrecks/messages/1003504.shtml
> http://www.ukdiving.co.uk/ukdiving/wreckforum/messages/1377.html
> http://www.senac.com/forums/7853/bin/486.html
> http://www.thetreasuredepot.com/cgi-bin/scuba/scuba_config.pl?
> read=906
> It also appears that this year, he discovered the Budoseek website 
> and Sword Forums.
> http://www.budoseek.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?
> t=4995&goto=nextoldest>&goto=nextoldest
> http://forums.swordforum.com/showthread.php?
> s=&threadid=31048&highlight=Pawel+Nowak
> I have a strong suspicion that he may have gotten Giovanni's contact 
> info from cruising the Armor Archive.
> Mr. Nowak has 2 different email addresses that he gives out.  They 
> are:
> Tomasnowak at hotmail.com and goldenwrecks at hotmail.com
> Mr. Nowak's MO seems to be to offer the sword to more than 
> one 'victim' at the same time.  I am sure that he has targeted 
> others on the Middle Bridge and on the Armor Archive as well.  I am 
> not on these two lists, but would appreciate it (though not as much 
> as the next potential victim) if somebody could please forward this 
> information and also cross post it to other lists as they believe it 
> is necessary.
> Let us all work together to keep this con artist from victimizing 
> our friends.
> YIS,
> Renee
> Shire of Greyhope,
> The Middle Kingdom
> ---------------------------------


More information about the Ansteorra mailing list