[Ansteorra] Gulf Wars Pre-Registration

Gulf Wars Liaison gulfwars at seneschal.ansteorra.org
Fri Dec 17 12:20:01 PST 2010

On Tue, Dec 14, 2010 at 08:42:36AM -0800, Chris Lowder wrote:
> Yes, It is established as fake. Also, looking up the header info on
> the first email revealed an IP address going to a server in Nigeria
> (Lagos, Nigeria to be exact). Hosting Company is Swift Networking
> Limited.The company is getting a lovely email about the hacker
> (tho something tells me it will not lead to much).

It's Nigeria. The hosting company not only won't care, they may be getting
a cut of anything the scammer receives. The corruption in Nigeria is not
merely endemic, or even epidemic; it's pandemic there.

This is my work sig; it may tell you why I'm unimpressed by the original
plea. I'm a _professional_ skeptic and paranoid: 

Mike Andrews 
abuse at odot.org
Information Security Co-ordinator
Oklahoma Department of Transportation

Mike Andrews        /   Michael Fenwick    Barony of Namron, Ansteorra
mikea at mikea.ath.cx  /   Amateur Extra radio operator W5EGO
Tired old music Laurel; Chirurgeon; SCAdian since AS XI

More information about the Ansteorra mailing list