ANSTHRLD - Question of Display
tmcd at jump.net
Tue Jul 6 20:31:21 PDT 1999
On Sun, 4 Jul 1999, Richard Threlkeld <rjt2 at airmail.net> wrote:
> Since kingdom arms are only displayed when the crown is present, and
> baronial arms similarly, what is the usage for the display of shire
> or Canton arms (they having no titular head)?
I can quibble with the first part: royal heralds on the Crown's or
Baron/ess's business can use the arms on their tabards even if the
landed-type person isn't present.
I know of no SCA-wide custom on the subject, nor have I heard of any
Ansteorran rulings, though old-timers might be able to remember.
Since they are corporate (little "c") arms, I personally think it
appropriate to use them when "the shire" is throwing the event or if
"the shire" is present or wishes to be thought of as present. I use
the term "the shire" intentially loosely and vaguely. For example, I
hope that shire banners are at ATYC, and a shire might have its banner
next its pavillion and gettogether point at a neighboring barony's
I would not restrict its use to the presence of the seneschal, who is
simply a major administrative official.
Daniel de Lincolia
*** NEW HOME E-MAIL ADDRESS ***
Tim McDaniel (home); Reply-To: tmcd at jump.net;
if that fail, my work addresses are tmcd at austin.ibm.com and tmcd at us.ibm.com.
tmcd at tmcd.austin.tx.us is a lie; tmcd at crl.com is old and will go away.
Go to http://lists.ansteorra.org/lists.html to perform mailing list tasks.
More information about the Heralds