[ANSTHRLD] sorry

Blaise de Cormeilles blaise at scadian.net
Mon Apr 12 09:14:06 PDT 2004

[I wrote:]

> > --On Sunday, April 11, 2004 9:38 PM -0400 Dmitrii1200 at aol.com wrote:
> > 
> > > Sorry new to this here is the link
> > > http://www.geocities.com/freaks252798/Devices_bagdes.html
> > 
> > #1: Per chevron argent and checky sable and argent, a chevron enhanced 
> > purpure beneath in fess a crescent between two wolves sejant respectant 
> > sable.  The chevron enhanced with nothing beneath it is poor style and may 
> > be returnable.

This was my error; it should have been an increscent.  Note that this
does not violate the so-called "Slot Machine" rule; that applies only
to type and not to any other quality of a charge.

> > #2: Gyronny azure and sable, a natural tiger's head (?) argent.  This 
> > violates RFS VIII.2.b.iv (elements evenly divided into multiple parts 
> > [except quarterly and per saltire] of two different tinctures must have 
> > good contrast between their parts).

This is now depicted as Gyronny argent and sable, a beast's head (I think
it's intended to be a natural tiger) argent.  This violates RFS VIII.2.b.i --
the field must have good contrast with every charge placed directly on it.
By precedent (which I will cite explicitly if you cannot find it at
http://www.sca.org/heraldry/laurel/precedents/), a charge that shares a
tincture with a divided field does not have good contrast with it.

> > #3: Unfortunately, the arrangement of the suns is unblazonable.  Sable, a 
> > bear rampant and to dexter three suns in an unblazonable arrangement, a 
> > bordure Or.

This is now depicted as Sable, two bears combattant and between them four
suns in pale, a bordure Or.

> > #4: Sable, on a bend sinister cotised between two quills bendwise sinister 
> > argent four inkwells sable.  I think this one is registerable style, but 
> > have not conflict checked.  I will be interested in arguments for and 
> > against it qualifying for X.2 and X.4.j.ii -- are cotises the same type of 
> > charge as the charge they accompany for the purpose of these rules?

On Mon, Apr 12, 2004 at 10:17:49AM -0500, Crandall wrote:

> A couple of the emblazons on the link do not seem to match the blazons
> that you give. Did Dmitri repost them since your reply?

Yes, he has.

Jim Trigg, Lord High Everything Else  O-          /"\
SKA Seigneur Blaise de Cormeilles                 \ /  ASCII RIBBON CAMPAIGN
Silver Nautilus Pursuivant, Atlantia               X    HELP CURE HTML MAIL
Webmaster, Academy of S. Gabriel                  / \

More information about the Heralds mailing list