[ANSTHRLD] question about augmentation
    Jennifer Smith 
    jds at randomgang.com
       
    Sun Jan 28 16:01:14 PST 2007
    
    
  
> So, someone has been granted augmentation of arms.
>  This change then must be registered as any other device 
> would be, correct?
Correct.
>  Also, per RfS VIII.7 it must follow the rules of armory and 
> period style
> etc.
Also correct.
>  If said person's original device conflicted with 
> someoneelse's when they
> tried to register it the first time and they added an element 
> to it to pass,
> would now adding this augmentation to the device then count 
> as a CD and
> allow them to then drop the originally added element?
No, because we protect both the augmented armory AND unaugmented armory.
> Oh heck I'll just use the arms in question:
Thank you. :)
> Sable a flame argent conflicted with something so Modius had to add an
> element, thus ending up with: Sable a flame and a base argent.
> 
> Now, he has been granted augmentation of arms by our newest 
> Duchy so once he
> adds that augmentation can he drop the base?
Since the bearer can choose to display his device with or without the
augmentation, we must protect both versions; in this case, if there was a
conflict before with just "Sable, a flame", then no he cannot drop the base
when he adds an augmentation. (Unless, of course, he comes up with a Letter
of Permission to Conflict, in which case it's two separate actions -- a
Device Change to drop the base, and then registering the augmentation
separately.)
-Emma
    
    
More information about the Heralds
mailing list