[ANSTHRLD] A question on behalf of a client

Alden Drake alden_drake at sbcglobal.net
Fri Jul 17 12:18:43 PDT 2009

I suggest emailing Achievement Form change suggestions to Sable Crane Pursuivant (formerly Stellar Scroll).

WRT Landed Barony and Court Barony achievements.  As Daniel pointed out, it is not recommended to base any achievement elements on a temporary position (landed barony).  It is not 100% given that a landed baron/ess will receive their court baroncy when they step down.  However, if they do receive a CB, former landeds are entitled to display a baronial coronet with an Ansteorran star on it, where CBs who are not former landeds do not receive that entitlement.  Both however do receive the right to display supporters.


From: Tim McDaniel <tmcd at panix.com>
To: "Heralds List, Kingdom of Ansteorra - SCA, Inc." <heralds at lists.ansteorra.org>
Sent: Friday, July 17, 2009 2:07:15 PM
Subject: Re: [ANSTHRLD] A question on behalf of a client

Does anyone have a copy of Adobe Acrobat, full edition?  There are
typos on the Achievement Registration Form that could be fixed.
(Googling for 'pdf edit linux' shows some candidates; maybe I can
take a swipe at it.)

On Fri, 17 Jul 2009, kevinkeary at aol.com wrote:
> As far as the rules for what one may register in an achievement go,
> does a court barony qualify one as a Grant or as a Noble?

The Achievement Registration Form at
lists "Barony" under "Nobility".

The page that points to it,
<http://herald.ansteorra.org/achievements.php>, also lists "former
landed barony" under "Nobility".  (The achievement form above, as with
this page, restricts one form of coronet to former landed barons,
impliying that the other forms are open to all.)

> But I have understood that losing a qualification to register
> something does not cause that registration to become invalid, IF you
> have already registered it.

True, but ...

> Can a LANDED baron do so

Not as a landed baron.  Landed ranks (by which I mean the titles of
king and queen, prince and princess (whether heirs or landed), landed
baron and landed baroness) don't get to register things based on their
landed, more-or-less temporary, ranks.

Daniel Lindecolina
-- Tim McDaniel, tmcd at panix.com
Heralds mailing list
Heralds at lists.ansteorra.org

More information about the Heralds mailing list