[Heralds] Conflict checking 'overall' charge

Jennifer Smith jds at randomgang.com
Fri May 11 13:17:06 PDT 2001

Okay, my brain is beginning to hurt.

Conflict checking Argent, two chevronels gules and overall an eagle
displayed sable.

Does this conflict with "Manfred, King of Sicily" with Argent, an eagle
displayed sable?  I count 1 CD for the addition of the chevronels, but here's
where my brain starts to misfire.  Since it's an overall charge, do the
chevronels count as half of the primary charge group (and therefore get a
CD per X.4.e)?  Or as secondaries (X.4.b)?  Either way that's only one CD,
and I can't get another from 'number of chevronels' (X.4.f), correct?

If I add a sable bordure, I have two CDs per X.4.b (twice), or X.4.b and X.4.e
(if the chevronels are considered part of the primary charge group).  I've
checked subsequent possible conflicts, and think I'm all clear from that
point. Just the overall charge stuff is a bit confusing...

-Emma de Fetherstan, Mooneschadowe Pursuivant

Jennifer Smith
jds at randomgang.com

More information about the Heralds mailing list