[ANSTHRLD] Device help

Jay Rudin rudin at ev1.net
Sat Jun 11 14:26:25 PDT 2005

No, that's not a separate layer, so the contrast rule doesn't apply.  It's
not a green thing layed heraldically on top of a purple thing; it's a purple
thing with green frou-frou layed on a white thing.

I'm not sure how to blazon it, but as given, it's very reminiscent (but
clear) of Mistress Alisandre Oliphant: " Argent, an elephant passant
purpure, armed Or, on a chief embattled purpure three annulets Or".
Mistress Alisandre is an Ansteorran peer who is still occasionally seen.

Robin of Gilwell / Jay Rudin
  -----Original Message-----
  From: heralds-bounces+rudin=ev1.net at ansteorra.org
[mailto:heralds-bounces+rudin=ev1.net at ansteorra.org]On Behalf Of Donnchadh
  Sent: Saturday, June 11, 2005 12:20 AM
  To: Heralds
  Subject: [ANSTHRLD] Device help

  I have someone who would like a device of a purple elephant with a green
blanket across the back (like a saddle) on a white field.  My question is
would the blanket and elephant violate the contrast rule?  Also, how would
you blazon it?

  Lord Donnchadh Beag mac Griogair
  Herald - Barony of Namron
  Honorable Brotherhood of Brewers, Mazers, and Vintners

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: /pipermail/heralds-ansteorra.org/attachments/20050611/6b18e73c/attachment.htm

More information about the Heralds mailing list