[ANSTHRLD] Advice request

kevinkeary at aol.com kevinkeary at aol.com
Tue Aug 26 11:13:40 PDT 2008

I have a client whose badge submission was returned at kingdom for 

Her desired badge was "(Fieldless) A walrus azure", correctly 
reblazoned by multiple Heralds as "(Fieldless) A walrus 
(sejant/statant/couchant erect, equivalent postures in a pinniped but 
some posture is required) guardant azure" and it was found to be in 
conflict with "Argent, a seal sejant azure" (Mary Zeal, device, 10/95). 
I was not her consulting herald, but if I HAD been, I'd have given her 
the same advice she got, which was there was a CD for fieldless vs 
argent and another for the guardant head position, even if all 
pinnipeds were ruled by the College to be without Difference.

I have two questions. The first is when is head position a CD and when 
is it not? Is it NEVER a CD, but a blazonable detail when it's not the 
default of being lined up with the body? Knowing this will help me 
advise future clients correctly.

The second is, what CAN we do to garner that second CD. As I've noted, 
posture options in pinnipeds are limited. Rampant or courant would be 
stupid. Would reversed qualify? Are there other things I could suggest 
to her short of adding a secondary or tertiary charge or altering the 

Thank you in advance for any advice you care to offer. The Commentary 
contained no such advice I noticed.

Kevin, Northkeep

More information about the Heralds mailing list