[ANSTHRLD] Ordinaries as tertiary charges

Bob Wade logiosophia at yahoo.com
Thu Jun 19 10:22:16 PDT 2008

Tostig Logiosophia 

The following device associated with this name was registered in December of 1988 (via Ansteorra) and changed/retained in February of 1997 (via Ansteorra):
Azure, on a plate a pall azure, on a chief argent, a compass star between two mullets of four points azure.

--- On Thu, 6/19/08, doug bell <magnus77840 at hotmail.com> wrote:

From: doug bell <magnus77840 at hotmail.com>
Subject: [ANSTHRLD] Ordinaries as tertiary charges
To: heralds at lists.ansteorra.org
Date: Thursday, June 19, 2008, 12:00 AM

This is exasperating.
I can't find any rulings disallowing the use of an ordinary or a peripheral
ordinary as a charge on another charge (not one that could have been used for a
medium of heraldic display).  There has to be a ruling on this but many hours
of searching has come up with nothing.  I know there are rulings on the
appearance of marshalling and using such items on escutcheons.  It is a guess
that it would be some kind of ruling on using a charge that by definition is
throughout or issues from the edge of the field as a tertiary on another


The other season of giving begins 6/24/08. Check out the i’m Talkathon.
Heralds mailing list
Heralds at lists.ansteorra.org


More information about the Heralds mailing list