[ANSTHRLD] A question on behalf of a client

Darin Herndon darin.herndon at chk.com
Fri Jul 17 12:14:46 PDT 2009

A court baron is a Grant and a Noble but not a Peer.  The coronet style represented in the achievement is limited to baronial style coronets but otherwise the example given in the docs is accurate.  A landed baron does not get to take on the armorial rights of a court baron; despite the word "baron" in both titles they are very different things.

A landed baron or baroness has gained nothing they can add to a personal achievement until and unless they are granted a Court Barony upon stepping down.  While they are landed, the achievement of the group represents the landed barony by the inclusion of a baronial coronet.

A court baron can include a baronial coronet.

A landed baron (who was not already a noble before investiture) is not entitled to anything extra on their personal achievement.  This is reflected in the achievement texts that can be produced.  There is no achievement text for a landed baron, only a charter, because the role and precedence accorded the landed baron are temporary.


-----Original Message-----
From: heralds-bounces+darin.herndon=chk.com at lists.ansteorra.org [mailto:heralds-bounces+darin.herndon=chk.com at lists.ansteorra.org] On Behalf Of kevinkeary at aol.com
Sent: Friday, July 17, 2009 1:52 PM
To: heralds at lists.ansteorra.org
Subject: [ANSTHRLD] A question on behalf of a client

As far as the rules for what one may register in an achievement go,
does a court barony qualify one as a Grant or as a Noble?
The minimal example given in the examples for a noble is a county, but
if court baronies do not confer nobility, then landed baron(esse)s are
at best temporary nobles. On the list of 'awards and honors in
Ansteorra', court baronies are listed with the grants and landed
baronies with the nobles. But I have understood that losing a
qualification to register something does not cause that registration to
become invalid, IF you have already registered it.

So, for instance, can a court baron register an achievement with a
simple baronial coronet on the helm?

Can a LANDED baron do so, and then retain it after stepping down?

Does the answer to the first question depend on whether the court baron
was previously a landed baron (or baroness, what with modern mundane
technology and all)? (This question I am fairly sure is answered with a

Heralds mailing list
Heralds at lists.ansteorra.org

This email (and attachments if any) is intended only for the use of the individual or entity to which it is addressed, and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law.  If the reader of this email is not the intended recipient, or the employee or agent responsible for delivering this message to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited.  If you have received this communication in error, please notify the sender immediately by return email and destroy all copies of the email (and attachments if any).

More information about the Heralds mailing list