[ANSTHRLD] A question on behalf of a client

Tim McDaniel tmcd at panix.com
Fri Jul 17 12:20:26 PDT 2009

On Fri, 17 Jul 2009, Alasdair MacEogan <alasdair at bmhanson.net> wrote:
> kevinkeary at aol.com wrote:
>>  Can a LANDED baron do so, and then retain it after stepping down?
> A qualified yes. :-D A a general rule when landed barons step down
> they get a court barony and i believe the inception date is back
> dated to when they stepped up.  at least I have never seen a
> stepping down landed that did NOT get one if they were not already a
> baron.

In principle, it is not automatic, and I can imagine cases when the
king and queen would decide not to give a court barony to
stepping-down landed.  Mind you, you'd want to watch the massive
political meltdown from a distance, but it _could_ happen.
(The groups that were nuked in Pug's tenure: were any of them
baronies?  If so, did the last landeds get court baronies?)

But unless Star has changed or will change policy on this matter, I
believe that a landed noble gets no heraldic perqs due to being a
landed noble, except perhaps the "founding baron" perq (I'd have to
care enough to look up any wording).

Daniel de Linccolne
Tim McDaniel, tmcd at panix.com

More information about the Heralds mailing list