[ANSTHRLD] Rising Star

C. L. Ward gunnora at vikinganswerlady.org
Tue Jan 22 08:10:07 PST 2002

>what kinds of period name constructions are actually out there for
>awards and orders...

Some odds and ends I turned up in a short search...

Real-world orders with the word "Star" in the title
Order of the Knights of the Cross with the Red Star - a Czechloslovakian
"knights hospitaller" order created by Pope Gregory IX in 1252.

King John II (the Good) of France instituted the Order of the Star in 1351
in response to Edward's creation of the Order of the Garter.

The Order of the Eastern Star (an affiliate of the Masons) dates to 1850,
though the organization states that it "may" go back as far as 1703.

The Most Exalted Order of the Star of India (a British Order of Chivalry)
was founded in 1861 and awarded through 1947 "for services to the Indian

Various medieval orders
c. 1080 - The Sovereign Military Hospitaller Order of Malta, founded by the
brothers of the Benedictine Monastery of Saint Mary Latina.

1155 - The Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulcher, possibly founded by
Godefroy, Duke of Bouillon, first Christian King of Jerusalem, after the
liberation of Jerusalem in 1099, but certainly in existence by 1155, when
they are mentioned in correspondence from Pope Adrian.

1158 - The Military Order of Calatrava, founded in Spain by Don Diego
Velázquez, a Cistercian monk of the Monastery of Fitero in Navarre, who
persuaded his Abbot, Ramón Sierra, to permit a group of monks to form
themselves into a military confraternity to defend the town of Oreto (later
renamed Calatrava by the Moors), and confirmed by King Sancho III of

1164 - The Military Order of Santiago (the Military Order of Saint James of
the Sword), established to protect pilgrims travelling to the tomb of Saint
James at Compostella in Spain.  Legend claims that the order was founded by
Ramiro, first King of Galicia, in the year 846.

1177 - The Military Order of Alcántara, a small religious-military
fraternity formed in either 1156 or 1176, by two brothers from Salamanca,
Suero and Gómez Fernández, and was based at the small town of San Julian del
Perál (or Pereiro), near Ciudad Real, from which it took its name.  The
order was formally institted by Papal Bull of Alexander III in 1177.

1280 - The Order of the Seraphim of Sweden, founded by Magnus I.

1317 - The Military Order of Montesa, founded in the town of Montesa in the
Kingdom of Aragón by King Jaime II with permission of Pope John XXII.

1348 - Order of the Garter, founded by King Edward III of England.

1382 - The Breton Order of Ermine

1392 - The Golden Apple (for knights of Auvergne and Bourbonnais)

1396 - The Orleanist Porcupine

1414 - The Golden Shield, founded by the Duke of Bourbon.

1414 - The Dragon, founded by the Count of Foix.

1415 - The Prisoner's Chain, founded by the Duke of Bourbon.

1430 - Order of the Golden Fleece, founded by Philip the Good of Burgundy.

1448 - The Crescent, founded by Rene of Anjou.

1462 - The Order of the Elephant of Denmark (Elefantordenen), mentioned in
church letters in 1462 and formally chartered in 1464.

1469 - The Order of St. Michael, founded by King Louis XI of France,
probably as a respose to Philip's Order of the Golden Fleece.

1561 - The Sacred Military Order of Saint Stephen of Tuscany Pope and Martyr
(Ordine di Santo Stefano di Toscana), founded in Florence by Cosimo de
Medici, Duke of Florence, to commemorate his victory over the French led by
Marshal Strozzi at the battle of Marciano, on Saint Stephen's day, August 2,
1554. Duke Cosimo was authorized to proceed with the organization of the
Order by a Brief of Pope Pius IV (Eximiae devotionis) October 1, 1561.

1573 - The Sacred Military Constantinian Order of Saint George (Ordine
Costantiniano di San Giorgio), supposedly founded by the Emperor Constantine
the Great to provide a guard for the Labarum, or Standard, which had been
carried at the head of his troops at the Battle of the Milvian Bridge in
312AD, though the earliest surviving statutes of the order date to Venice in

1637 - The Teutonic Order in the Netherlands (Ridderlijke Duitsche Orde)
existed prior to this time as a Catholic order, but was reconsituted as a
Lutheran hospitaller order in 1637.

1687 - The Most Ancient and Most Noble Order of the Thistle, revived by King
James II of Scotland

This is by no means a complete listing, as there are dozens of sub-brances
of the Knights of St. John alone that I know I've missed...


More information about the Heralds mailing list