tmcd at panix.com
Tue Apr 20 21:28:42 PDT 2004
On Tue, 20 Apr 2004 kobrien at texas.net <heralds at ansteorra.org> wrote:
> They can't have the roses on a green roundel with a fieldless background
> ([Fieldless] On a roundel vert, two roses...).
> The reason is that a roundel is a way that armory was displayed,
> just like on a shield-shape or a lozenge or a square (delf), etc.
> If they go with a green background, they can display the badge
> always as a green circle with roses on it that they slap on
> everything - since the roundel is a mode of display.
What she said. (Which is also what I said.)
> Oh, and one other thing. If they go with the fieldless option, they
> may be limited regarding what position the roses can be in. I'm
> vaguely remembering a ruling that you can't have disjoint (not
> connnected) charges on a fieldless badge. So you may be able to
> have the roses in saltire (X position) but not side by side (| |).
Precisely, and it's a good point.
Daniel "Mari's doing better armory consultation than I am ... time to
take up dance instead" de Lincolia
Tim McDaniel (home); Reply-To: tmcd at panix.com; work is tmcd at us.ibm.com.
More information about the Heralds