[ANSTHRLD] A little more help if you please...

Jennifer Smith jds at randomgang.com
Tue Apr 21 06:47:37 PDT 2009

Daniel wrote: 

> On Mon, 20 Apr 2009, Jennifer Smith <jds at randomgang.com> wrote:
> > Hallgeirr wrote:
> > > Vert, a winged wagon wheel Or within an annulet Or, between three
> > > mullets of five greater and five lesser points argent.
> > >
> > > The color drawing can be viewed at
> > > http://www.flickr.com/photos/18277217@N08/3461689066/
> >
> > The next problem that would be introduced then is that, as I see it,
> > you have a wagon wheel, pair of wings, and an annulet all in the
> > same charge group. This is cause for return under the "no
> > slot-machine" rule: RfS VIII.1.a says:
> >
> >     1. Armorial Simplicity. - All armory must be simple in design.
> >        a. Tincture and Charge Limit - Armory must use a limited
> >           number of tinctures and types of charges.
> >           ...As another guideline, three or more types of charges
> >           should not be used in the same group.
> Thing is, I don't think that they are "in the same group".  "A charge
> within a circular charge" is not a standard arrangement in the same
> way that "two and one" or "in saltire" are.

True, but... Hm. Okay - time for me to go precedent digging. I have this
hazy memory that says "a charge within a annulet" has been treated
alternately as a group primary and as a sole primary within a secondary, and
I don't know which is right (or more current, more precisely).

> More definitely, I see the wheel as one charge -- a winged-wheel, so
> to speak.

Oh hey, you're right. As usual. I blame thinking about heraldry way too late
at night while being pestered to go watch Heroes...


More information about the Heralds mailing list