[ANSTHRLD] achievements for barons (was: A question on behalf of a client)
kevinkeary at aol.com
kevinkeary at aol.com
Fri Jul 17 13:11:42 PDT 2009
Thank you and everyone else for your answers to my questions. I should
learn to just ask one person instead of the list. Or if I had looked at
the registration form, I could have saved us all a load of trouble.
And, for the record, my hypothetical potential client is not a past or
present landed noble of Northkeep. I just wanted to make sure that what
(s)he wanted to do was valid, and it is, and I'm sorry I was too dense
to confirm it on my own.
Anyway, to answer YOUR questions:
>> The minimal example given in the examples for a noble is a county. .
>Given in the examples where?
but I obviously misread or misremembered it. Now, plain as day it
mentions 'former landed barony' and 'viscounty' and does NOT mention
county. I apologize for that too.
>> . . .On the list of 'awards and honors in Ansteorra', court baronies
are listed with the grants and landed baronies with the nobles.
>Again, what list?
And I am surprised, but understand, the consensus that a landed barony
-- an explicitly temporary ennobling with the court barony to follow
NOT guaranteed -- actually confers LESS rights to registering
achievement elements, at least in good taste. Surprised, and
From: Coblaith Muimnech <Coblaith at sbcglobal.net>
Sent: Fri, Jul 17, 2009 2:22 pm
Subject: [ANSTHRLD] achieveme
nts for barons (was: A question on behalf
of a client)
> As far as the rules for what one may register in an achievement go, >
does a court barony qualify one as a Grant or as a Noble?
> The minimal example given in the examples for a noble is a county. .
Given in the examples where? Page 6 of the Achievement Guidelines
<http://herald.ansteorra.org/publications.php> offers an example that
says, in part, "A few years after the White Scarf, Don Iago was made a
Court Baron. With this noble title, His Excellency received not only a
coronet and a beautiful charter in court, but is now entitled to a new
achievement scroll with arms, baronial coronet, helm, livery, crest,
> . . .On the list of 'awards and honors in Ansteorra', court >
baronies are listed with the grants and landed baronies with the >
Again, what list? That's not the way it is on the "Honors of Ansteorra"
page on the College of Heralds' site
<http://herald.ansteorra.org/honors/>. "Barony in Fief" and "Court
Barony" are both under "Nobility".
> . . .can a court baron register an achievement with a simple >
baronial coronet on the helm?
Yes. (That's explicit in the quote from the Achievement Guidelines I
> Can a LANDED baron do so, and then retain it after st
An example on page 7 of the Achievement Guidelines says, "Two years
later, he was invested as the Baron of Namron, and is entitled to the
special charter of a Baron in Fief; however, he is not yet entitled to
a new achievement scroll." Since one is entitled to a new achievement
scroll each time one becomes entitled to and registers a new
achievement, that a barony in fief doesn't carry achievements with it
is implicit in this statement.
<mailto:Coblaith at sbcglobal.net>
Heralds mailing list
Heralds at lists.ansteorra.org
More information about the Heralds